Policies Affecting Asian Indian Americans

1906 Asian Indians denied U.S. citizenship
1917 Asiantic Barred Zone Act passed in Congress

excluded immigration from South or Southeast Asia, including India

1921 Immigration Act (Johnson Act)
1923 Supreme Court decision, United States v. Bhagat Singh, third decision
1924 Immigration Act (Johnson-Reed Act) excluded immigration of all Asian laborers, including Asian Indians
1946 Asian Indians granted token immigration quota of 100
1952 Immigration and Nationality Act (McCarran-Walter Act) upheld national origins quotas
1965 Immigration and Naturalization Act eliminated national origins quotas
1990 Immigration Act continued priority for skilled workers and family reunification