Thursday, July 16, 2020


Article Index

D. The Republic of South Sudan

On July 9, 2011, the Republic of South Sudan became Africa's 54th independent nation. It subsequently launched its own currency, the South Sudan Pound. The Transitional Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan was adopted by the South Sudan Legislative Assembly and came into force on July 9. The Assembly has passed laws on the national flag, nationality, badges and insignias, the national anthem, and the national seal. The Bank of South Sudan Provisional Order was also passed on August 22. Finally, sixteen provisional orders were passed, regulating, inter alia, the sale of goods, the prison service and the audit chamber.

Vernellia R. Randall
Founder and Editor
Professor Emerita of Law
The University of Dayton School of Law