Wednesday, August 05, 2020


Article Index

E. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa)

On June 10, 2011 COMESA-EAC-SADC held their second tripartite summit and on June 12 leaders signed a historical declaration launching negotiations for the establishment of the COMESA-SADC-EAC Tripartite Free Trade Area. The purpose of the Tripartite Free Trade Area is to bolster intra-regional trade by creating a wider market, increasing investment flows, enhancing competitiveness and developing cross-regional infrastructure. In June 2011, COMESA signed an MOU with the Corporate Council on Africa (CCA) to assist African firms become familiar with the requirements of the U.S. market and to meet the regulatory requirements in the United States.

Vernellia R. Randall
Founder and Editor
Professor Emerita of Law
The University of Dayton School of Law